The Latin American Association on Space Geophysics (ALAGE)
organizes approximately every three to four years the COLAGE.
This conference gathers more than a hundred scientists and
students from Latin American countries interested in the following
areas of research:

-The Sun and solar-terrestrial interactions
-The heliosphere and cosmic rays
-The magnetosphere
-The ionosphere and upper atmosphere
-Space weather and space climate
-Plasma physics of solar system planets and exoplanets.
-Nonlinear processes in space geophysics

In this opportunity, we are organizing the tenth edition of these conferences.

The X COLAGE will be held in the city of Cusco in Peru from
September 8 to 12, 2014.

In addition, the X COLAGE will be followed by the SCOSTEP/ISWI International School on Space Science, which is sponsored by the Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP) and the International Space Weather Initiative (ISWI). This school will take place in Lima, Peru on September 15-24, 2014. The school will be an excellent learning and enrichment opportunity for graduate students that also attend the conference.



COLAGE International Organizing Committee

Dr. Blanca Mendoza – President of ALAGE (UNAM, Mexico)
Dr. Adolfo Viñas – International Secretary of ALAGE (NASA, USA)
Dr. Abraham Chian (INPE, Brazil)
Dr. José Valdés-Galicia (UNAM, Mexico)
Dr. Walter Gonzalez (INPE, Brazil)
Dr. Sergio Dasso (IAFE, UBA-CONICET, Argentina)
Dr. Marco Milla (IGP, Peru)


ISSS International Organizing Committee

Dr. Nat Gopalswamy (NASA, USA)
Dr. Marco Milla (IGP, Peru)
Dr. Abraham Chian (INPE, Brazil)


Local Organizing Committee

Dr. Marco Milla (IGP)
Dr. Danny Scipión (IGP)
Dr. Jose Ishitsuka (IGP)
Shermely Moyna (CI)
Pierina Morales (IGP)

Plenary Talks

  • Dr. Sami Solanki
    Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research
    Opening invited talk on Perspectives of Solar Physics
  • Dr. Ronald Woodman
    President of Geophysical Institute of Peru
    Talk: 3D Geography of Peru

Session 1. The Sun and solar-terrestrial interactions
Conveners: Cristina Mandrini and Francisco Frutos

  • Mark Miesch, High Altitude Observatory, UCAR, USA
  • Eduard Kontar, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Marilena Mierla, Solar-Terrestrial Center of Excellence – SIDC, Royal Observatory of Belgium, Belgium
  • Alberto Vásquez, Instituto de Astronomía y Física del Espacio, Facultad de Ciencias Exactas y Naturales, UBA, Argentina

Session 2. The Heliosphere and Cosmic Rays
Conveners: Sergio Dasso and Alisson Dal Lago

  • Hernán Asorey, Escuela de Física - Facultad de Ciencias, Universidad Industrial de Santander, Colombia
  • John D. Richardson, Kavli Center for Astrophysics and Space Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA
  • Joseph Borovsky, Center for Space Plasma Physics, Space Science Institute, USA
  • Hebe Cremades, Facultad Regional Mendoza, Universidad Tecnológica Nacional, Argentina

Session 3. The Magnetosphere
Conveners: Walter González and Román Pérez

  • Ramón Lopez, Department of Physics, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  • Antonio Otto, Geophysical Institute, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
  • Alejandro Valdivia, Facultad de Ciencias - Departamento de Física, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Session 4. The Ionosphere and the Upper Atmosphere
Conveners: Inez Batista and Jorge Chau

  • Cesar Valladares, Institute for Scientific Research, Boston College, USA
  • Sixto Gonzalez, SRI, Arecibo Observatory, Puerto Rico
  • Erhan Kudeki, Department of Electrical and computer engineering, University of Illinois, USA

Session 5. Space Weather and Space Climate
Conveners: Lela Taliashvili and Ernesto Aguilar

  • Blanca Mendoza, Instituto de Geofísica, UNAM, Mexico
  • Brigitte Schmieder, LESIA, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon, France
  • Alexandre Lazarian, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Jörg Büchner, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, USA

Session 6. Plasma Physics of Solar System, Planets and Exoplanets
Conveners: Daniel Gómez and Dolores Maravilla

  • Xochitl Blanco Cano, Instituto de Geofísica, UNAM, Mexico
  • Rosaly Lopes, Planetary Science Section, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA

Session 7. Nonlinear Processes in Space Geophysics
Conveners: Abraham Chian and Alejandro Valdivia

  • Erico Rempel, Institute of Aeronautical Technology, Brazil
  • Marina Stepanova, Departamento de Física, Universidad de Santiago de Chile, Chile
  • Vera Jatenco Pereira, Instituto de Astronomia, Geofísica e Ciências Atmosféricas, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil


The ALAGE will give two awards during the celebration of the X COLAGE


Ruth Gall Award Roberto Manzano Award

This award will be given to a distinguished researcher who has collaborated significantly with more than one scientific group from Latin American Institutions despite the fact that he/she was not affiliated to any Latin American Institution.

The award committee will receive candidate proposals until 3 months before the conference take place. The proposal should be signed by at least by 3 members of the ALAGE. The proposals should be submitted by email to the award committee including the following documents:

-Candidate CV
-Letter from the candidate expressing being aware of his/her nomination
-Letter from the proponents explaining their reasons for the nomination of the candidate.

The letter should enumerate the scientific groups that have collaborated with the candidate and the fruits from this collaboration.

The committee has the responsibility of evaluating the nominations and reserves the right to declare the award vacant.

The Ruth Gall Award winner will receive a diploma and will be made honorary member of the ALAGE. In addition, the winner will have opportunity of giving a plenary lecture during the COLAGE.


This award will be given to the best contribution presented in COLAGE that has a student as the first author. One award will be given per each of the COLAGE sessions.

In order to participate, the student must express his/her desire of participating in this competition either by sending an e-mail to the award committee or by selecting this option during the registration process (in the abstract submission section). Only the candidates who manifest their interest in participating will be considered for the competition.

The committee reserves the right to declare the award vacant.

The Roberto Manzano Award winners will receive diplomas, their ALAGE membership fees will be waived for 4 years, and their COLAGE registration fees will be waived in the next two conferences.

In addition, books will be given to the winners sponsored by the ALAGE and the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS)